Ben F Jones National Bar Association - Memphis TN



This month's attorney spotlight is...

Harrison D. McIver, III

Harrison McIver, III received his undergraduate degree from Morehouse and his J.D. from Rutgers University School of Law. He began his legal career as a Reginald Heber Smith Fellow at North Mississippi Rural Legal Services. After 14 years in Mississippi, Harrison was appointed Executive Director of the Project Advisory Group, the national organization of legal services programs in Washington, D.C.  In 1998, Harrison was hired as Executive Director of MALS (Memphis Area Legal Services).  Since arriving, he has facilitated the creation of the program’s first vision and mission statements. Harrison also facilitated the development of the organizaion's strategic and business plans that rallied and focused board and staff members around a common purpose; restructured the delivery system to promote more efficient access to services; and served as a catalyst for building partnerships and collaborations. Such collaborative efforts involved including the private bar in order to expand services as well as increase and maximize resources.

Since arriving in Memphis, Harrison has served as the Chair of the National Legal Aid and Defender Association, a member of Tennessee House of Delegates, a member of the Memphis Bar Association, and on various community organization boards.  Harrison has served as a great resource and board member for the Ben F. Jones Chapter for a number of years.

In 2008, he was selected as a Fellow in the American Bar Foundation.  Under McIver’s leadership, MALS became the first legal aid organization participant in the Program for Nonprofit Excellence in the country, a nationally recognized capacity building program designed to enhance organizational capacity in providing seamless high quality service.

We are proud to have the leadership and service of Harrison McIver on the board of directors of the Ben F. Jones Chapter of the National Bar Association.

Past Attorney Spotlight Honorees:

  • Vanessa M. Cross
  • David E. McKinney
  • Christopher S. Campbell
  • Teresa Jones
  • Pamela Pope Johnson
  • Monice Moore Hagler
  • Bernice Bouie Donald
  • Jerome Payne

Nominate someone for the Attorney Spotlight... 

back to top



Amber Floyd

Felsia Cox
Vice President
(President Elect)

Kevin Bruce

Asia Diggs
Corresponding Secretary

Justin Bailey
Recording Secretary

Kenneth Walker

David E. McKinney
Immediate Past President

Board of Directors

Our website was made possible by
the generous support of these
community businesses:
 Action Audio Video